Futility of following news

I used to be an enthusiastic follower of current events once. Newspapers and news channels would make a sizeable portion of my pre-breakfast meal. At that age, and stage, it felt as if I was moving ahead in life by knowing all that was printed and shown in the name of news. I loved discussing trivia with friends, colleagues, and just about anyone who was interested. I made sure to gather facts and material good enough to win arguments; to quiet people; to show off my superiority. It all made me look good and more educated.

Ten years later, today, I run away from news. The issues of a decade back are still alive, and nobody seems to be doing anything about them. Voices are raised by courageous people, only to be suppressed by powerful ones. Rapes haven’t stopped, nor have murders. Politicians still excel at speeches, and fail at delivering. Innocent people are harassed, perpetrators go scot free. People hate their neighbours, but fight in the name of religion.

What has really changed?

I am sure even if I stop following everything today, and try to catch up ten years later, things wouldn’t be so difficult to understand. The constant inflow of so much of information doesn’t make sense to me, if these are to be forgotten so soon. I would rather read good books than newspapers everyday. Books teach. They inspire. They tell, and share.

Leave a Reply

