Night – Aren’t You a Gift!

The land is slowly devoid of light,

Even noise is about to lose its fight,

The tick of the clock is amplified loud,

It’s the time of the day when dark feels proud.

 

People at last succumb to fatigue,

Nuisance in the day, sleeping children intrigue,

It’s time to relax, to sleep, to replenish,

Even breeze runs slow, I know it’ll vanish.

 

But here I am, sitting wide awake,

Hot tea on the table, cold back with an ache,

Out of the window, moon looks a beauty,

Somewhere afar, a watchman begins his duty.

 

I love this silence – it’s fertile, it’s great,

It brings me joy, it helps me contemplate,

I read, I write, and I feel alive,

I do all that, that’s how I thrive.

 

No disruption, no distraction,

No boss, no client, no need for an action,

I work, I earn, I spend – all right,

But I meet my true self only at night.

 

In day I’m lazy, come night I’m crazy,

In nights I see, my days are hazy,

I kiss my son, my wife good night,

But, spend the rest of it underneath light.

 

I take no pressure to be the best,

No need to run and reach the crest,

I think and write what best I can,

Just want to be honest, that’s the plan.

Leave a Reply

