Out Of My League You Are But…

I pause,

Stare hard,

At screen with bleary eyes,

It’s time I know,

Let’s go – Heart cries,

But the lights are still on,

My boss is on the phone,

That means I can’t move,

I let out a groan,

She knocks,

Walks past,

And submits her work,

I smile,

Say ‘night,

I think I’m a jerk,

I want to go,

Along with her too,

Her earrings are new,

What am I going to do?

She spins,

And leaves,

Her fragrance still stays,

I close,

My eyes,

My heart ablaze,

I hear her say bye,

To all outside,

Out of my league she is,

I should’ve still tried,

It’s been some days,

My life is such,

We work together,

What else?

Nothing much,

Today is the day,

I thought I would say,

Anything beyond a smile,

And clear up the way,

But,

She leaves,

I am alone,

A couple of hours gone,

I rub my eyes,

Stretch my back,

Suppress a possible yawn,

And,

I shuffle across,

The hall to my boss,

Get a pat on my back,

Still feel it’s a loss,

Elevator I take,

Grab a burger and a cake,

And long to sit,

By the side of a lake,

I reach my car,

A heart with a scar,

In sight is a tree,

Beneath a star,

Just then it glows,

With a shiver and a tone,

That’s her message,

Her message on my phone,

I read it aloud,

She needs to talk,

Oh,

It’s about work,

She’s in a shock,

The work she did,

Was ‘All Wrong!’ – she cries,

But I’ve sent it ahead,

My blood all dries,

I sit in fright,

My eyes on the tree,

I call up my boss,

Just say it was me,

I take all the flak,

And then call her back,

I state what I’ve done,

She screams I’m a crack!

She says she is sorry,

I say,

That’s alright,

She talks she laughs,

Right past midnight,

Still dreaming of her,

Not blinking at all,

I’m thinking what next,

Now that,

We’ve broken the wall.

 

One thought on “Out Of My League You Are But…

Leave a Reply

